This site is not supported on Internet Explorer. Please view this site on the latest version of Chrome, Safari, Firefox or Edge.

Update your browser


Jul 6, 2021

Image description

Michael K. Hurst Honored by the National Association of Women Lawyers

Michael K. Hurst, name partner at the highly respected Dallas trial boutique Lynn Pinker Hurst & Schwegmann, has earned the 2021 “Lead by Example Award” from the National Association of Women Lawyers.

The annual award recognizes a leading male attorney who supports the advancement of women within his organization and the legal profession. Mr. Hurst will be presented the award virtually during NAWL’s annual meeting on July 21.

“As I began my career more than 30 years ago, I became keenly aware of the distinct challenges faced by women attorneys and the tremendous benefits they provide for law firms and their clients,” said Mr. Hurst. “I’m gratified that firms and organizations are making changes in their culture and programs to recognize the value of mentoring and supporting women. I hope I’ve played some part in those efforts.”

Consistently recognized as one of the top trial lawyers in the nation, Mr. Hurst has served as president of the Dallas Bar Association and Dallas Association of Young Lawyers. Currently, he is a director of the State Bar of Texas. He has served in leadership roles for numerous causes that support women in both the law and the greater Dallas community. In 2015, he was recognized for his contributions to the advancement of women attorneys, becoming first male recipient of the Louise B. Raggio Award from the Dallas Women Lawyers Association.

Mr. Hurst is Board Certified in Civil Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and was named 2021 Lawyer of the Year in Commercial Litigation in North Texas by Best Lawyers in America. His extensive courtroom experience includes both high-profile verdicts and defense wins in claims involving breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duties, fraud, and theft of trade secrets.

He earned his law degree from the South Texas College of Law in Houston in 1990, and his undergraduate degree from The University of Texas at Austin in 1987.